The Evolution of Presentations

blackboard

Image by Ilker. (2009). Retrieved from http://www.sxc.hu/photo/1206709

Over the course of my teaching I have prepared many presentations, some so low tech as to be no tech! (overhead projectors and coloured Sharpie’s on transparency paper). As technology evolved most of the lecture presentations were prepared using PowerPoint with which we all fell in love. It offered the ability to add colour and graphics; use templates and animations; embed audio and video etc. and it also evolved – making it easier to create sophisticated presentations. But, it also made it easier to embed images and material that had been ‘borrowed’ from any number of internet sites – maybe credited to the source, but, perhaps not,  if the source was not readily available.

animoto-logo-300x67

Image by Animoto. (2013). Retrieved from http://animoto.com/

This week we practiced good presentation etiquette. I relaunched an older Animoto account  with plans to use this application to create my mini-presentation. But, after I started, and as I noted below, after I read Phil’s blog, I remembered that a limitation to the free access version, was the number of slides that you can add to the final product. You can either pay for the upgraded version or apply for the Animoto Plus account for use in education which allows more unrestricted access to many of the higher end features for creating really professional videos. I will do this over the summer when (and here is the refrain!), I have more time!

sliderocket

Image by SlideRocket. (2013). Retrieved from http://www.sliderocket.com/

I have somewhat sporadically used SlideRocket in the past, and decided to use it to create the mini-presentation on responsible use of copyright. Like every other application, SlideRocket requires time and practice to learn all of its features, but it provides templates & tutorials and I find it quite intuitive when using most of its tools (please take a look at my efforts and let me know what you think).

For me, the significant piece of learning this session is the increased knowledge that I gained about appropriate use of intellectual property. I must admit that I am going to have to print some of this and keep it for a reference, as some of the guidelines for educational use are slightly different than non-educational. I am still not totally clear about the restrictions on some types of materials.  The guidelines provided in the Cite it Right and Creating a Credit Slide are very valuable, as is the Fair Dealing for Media Education article. Also required viewing at a faculty meeting is the Creative Commons video. These will all definitely find their way into my PLE and potentially my PLN as I share these with my faculty colleagues.

From Feedly this week, I found a very cool article that I thought was a nice adjunct to what we examined this session. It describes the launch of a Google tool called the Peanut Gallery that allows us to add commentary to a silent film clip. Bookmarked it with Diigo as one more thing to fully explore ‘when I have time’.

I really do intend to spend some quality time and efforts into compiling some of this very worthwhile learning into a usable and readily accessible PLN for myself. It cannot help but make my curriculum design more relevant and engaging.

Leave a Reply

