Presentations: Managing Copyright

CC

Image by foxhead128. (2012). Retrieved from 128.deviantart.com/art/Unofficial-Guide-to-Creative-Commons-Licenses-302720966

This week we looked at the impact of managing copyright appropriately when creating presentations. I explored Animoto which I have used before, but upon reading Phil’s cautions in his blog, I recalled some of the limitations to this video tool. As Phil noted, Animoto presentations are really good looking – they can make us appear much more competent than we really are – but they are limited in time and capacity in the free account for which I had signed up some time ago. I then decided to try to practice my skills in a presentation app that I have used before but where I can really use some practice to fine tune my dexterity.

Hence, my presentation in SlideRocket. I find this a very user friendly presentation tool. I like the engagement for viewers better than Prezi, but like anything else it requires practice, and of course practice requires time – of which I don’t have an abundance right now!

However, as like most other Web 2.0 tools, once you get started you can immerse yourself and play for quite some time. This is a short visual presentation outlining some of the core concepts that we learned this week regarding appropriate copyright usage. Most of the images come from a site where I again signed up (one more place where I have left a footprint), but I really like the variety and quality of their free images. It is called Stock.xchng and it can be found at http://www.sxc.hu/.

Anyway, here is my SlideRocket presentation address. Feedback very welcome!

One thought on “Presentations: Managing Copyright

  1. Kathryn says:

    Ann, great presentation, I watched the slide rocket. I am glad I did, I actually picked up some referencing tips and rules from your slide. Great clean use of a presentation…

Leave a Reply

