Incorporating Voice: Ways to be Heard

voice

Image by Boita, E. (2008). Retrieved from http://www.sxc.hu/photo/1065761

As we get closer to the conclusion of our course and I consider the number of tools and applications that can be transferred to learning and educational settings, I am astonished. It is incredibly satisfying when I can take directly integrate new learning into my professional and personal practice which makes the outcome so much more than a university credit.

VoiceThread is another of these tools. Self-described as a collaborative tool that functions in the cloud, voice thread gives individual choice in the way they choose to interact; voice, webcam, with audio files, in writing, both asynchronously or synchronously.  It can facilitate group learning, engage a variety of learning styles and augment or replace in-class discussion groups. I really enjoyed its interface capability with the visuals we were examining!

PollDaddy is another tool that we explored. I have used similar types of tools such as Survey Monkey, but PollDaddy’s immediate response capability was engaging. This means that in a classroom setting others can see the impact of their opinion directly so it can be used for group decisions, topic selection, course feedback etc. pd-small@2x

One or both will definitely find their way into my PLE. I am already building a “tool kit” from what we have learned to date, so that when I have some breathing space over the summer, I can extend my learning and find ways of including elements of it in my own teaching. I am also planning a faculty meeting to share some of these ideas with my colleagues as I look to incorporate this learning into my PLN.

Several of my Reader feeds include news sites and I have been following, somewhat on the periphery, the disturbing sex assault case from Steubenbville, US. Its relevance to our learning is in the impact that social media had in both recording and disseminating images and information from the assault. Take a look here at the social media usage regarding this case. Of course, there are other very significant issues at play but, as we explore Digital Rights and Responsibilities, elements from this case act in part, as a cautionary tale about respect, safety and responsibility. This message is obviously not being sent clearly enough to impact behaviours. As I noted last week, Digital Rights and Responsibilities need to be embedded into school curriculum’s from the primary level forward. Much more media awareness needs to focus on this as an issue in a way that highlights all aspects – positive and negative – of an individual’s digital footprint.

Rant over – now on to reading for Gender!

One thought on “Incorporating Voice: Ways to be Heard

  1. Digital Dave says:

    Hi Ann – interesting story from Stuebenville. In London Ontario today the police shut down a number of parties before they really began and confiscated a large amount of alcohol. They say they knew where the parties were going to be simply because they follow Facebook and twitter! Good police work? Or Big Brother?

Leave a Reply

